How do aircraft shares work in the UK? What 10 flying groups charge
October 24, 2026 · Chris van Eijk
A UK flying group, also called a syndicate, is a handful to a few dozen pilots who own an aircraft together, pay its fixed costs every month and pay for their own flying by the hour. We read what UK groups publish about their charges on their own websites — or on the page of the airfield club or school that runs them — on 23 October 2026, and what the Civil Aviation Authority (CAA) says about registering a group-owned aircraft.
Short answer: in a UK equity group you buy a share of the aircraft once, pay a monthly charge for the fixed costs and an hourly rate for every hour you fly. At the eight share groups in our table a share costs £2,500 to £8,950, the monthly charge is £46 to £165, and a certified aircraft costs £85 to £135 an hour wet. You sell your share when you leave. A non-equity group asks a deposit instead of a share (refundable at North Weald), and you own nothing.
Equity and non-equity groups
An equity group owns the aircraft: each member holds a share of it. The Hampshire Flying Group at Popham calls itself "an equity group"; Pioneer Flying Co Ltd at Prestwick is "owned and operated by a group of 20 pilots through a limited company (Pioneer Flying Co Ltd). Each member owns an equal share in the aircraft and group funds". The share is capital, not a fee — the Hampshire Flying Group's share is "yours to sell as and when you require".
A non-equity group gives its members access to an aircraft that someone else owns. North Weald Flying Group says there is "no need to purchase equity", and Lydd Group 5 offers "No Capital Investment": you pay a deposit, a monthly charge and an hourly rate. The CAA draws the same line: "'non-equity' groups cannot be registered in this way as the group members do not hold any ownership of the aircraft itself".
How a group owns the aircraft
An aircraft on the UK register can be registered in the name of each of its owners, but the CAA's guidance on group ownership says that "in cases where there are three or more individual owners of an aircraft it is recommended that you form a group of co-ownership syndicate for the purposes of registration". The point is that "any member may leave or join the group without the need to re-register the aircraft every time (which would incur a fee)".
"One or two of the owners must be nominated as trustee(s) of the group", and if a trustee leaves, the aircraft must be re-registered. "The trustee of a group must supply a full list of names, addresses, nationalities and percentage shareholdings of the group members" on a Trustee Grid form, and tells the CAA when members join or leave. That is why only the trustee — or the two trustees — show as the owner of a group aircraft on G-INFO, the public register: the CAA's G-INFO guidance says "As long as the words "Trustee of" appear after their name there is no problem."
Some groups own their aircraft through a limited company instead: Pioneer Flying Co Ltd at Prestwick, and at Lydd the groups listed on lyddaero.co.uk/groups as "Group 1 – Archer One Ltd", "Group 3 – Archer Three Ltd" and so on.
Three payments: once, every month, every hour
Once
Buy a share
£2,500 to £8,950 in our table
Your part of the aircraft — “yours to sell as and when you require”, as the Hampshire Flying Group puts it. A non-equity group asks a deposit instead (refundable at North Weald).
Every month
Pay the fixed costs
£46 to £165 a month
Costs that come whether anyone flies or not: hangarage, insurance, the annual inspection, radio and ARC, permit — whatever the group lists.
Every hour
Pay for the hours you fly
£85 to £135 an hour wet (certified aircraft)
Fuel when the rate is wet; at the Lydd Archers the rate includes the engine fund and maintenance reserve. Counted on whatever the group bills on — Hobbs hours at The 152 Group, airborne time plus 7 minutes at North Weald.
What UK flying groups charge
At the eight share groups in our table, a share costs £2,500 to £8,950, the monthly charge is £46 to £165 and a certified aircraft costs £85 to £135 an hour wet. The cheapest shares are at Popham: £2,500 for a share in the Hampshire Flying Group, which covers its three aircraft (plus "a non-refundable one-time £250 joining fee"), and a guide price of £2,500 for one of 20 shares in The 152 Group's Cessna 152. The dearest are the two Archers at Lydd, each divided into ten shares: £6,450 a share in Archer One Ltd and £8,950 in Archer Three Ltd. A share in the GS Aviation Ikarus C42, a microlight, is £3,115 for one twentieth.
What 10 UK flying groups charge
| Group and aircraft | Share | Monthly | Per hour | Meter |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hampshire Flying GroupRobin DR400 (the share also covers a WA52 and a DR221) · Popham · equity | £2,500plus a £250 joining fee | £90 | £120wetDR400 and WA52; DR221 £90 | not stated |
| Skyhawk Flying GroupCessna 172N · Popham · shares, equity not stated | not stated | £90 | £85wet | not stated |
| The 152 GroupCessna 152 · Popham · shares, equity not stated | £2,500guide price, 1 of 20 shares | £73 | £97wetHobbs | Hobbs |
| The 152 GroupPiper PA-28 Warrior II · Popham · shares, equity not stated | £3,500guide price, 1 of 17 shares | £82 | £120wetHobbs | Hobbs |
| Pioneer Flying Co LtdScottish Aviation Bulldog · Prestwick · equity | not stated | £55 | £105not stated | not stated |
| Scottish Airways FlyersPiper PA-28R Arrow · Prestwick · shares, equity not stated | not stateda membership is bought; price not given | £62.50£750 a year | £135wet | not stated |
| GS Aviation C42 share (run by the flying school)Ikarus C42 (microlight) · Clench Common · shares, equity not stated | £3,1151 of 20 shares | £46 | £60wet | not stated |
| Archer One Ltd (Lydd Group 1)Piper PA-28-181 Archer II · Lydd · shares, equity not stated | £6,4501 of 10 shares | £165 | £72dry, plus fuel | not stated |
| Archer Three Ltd (Lydd Group 3)Piper PA-28-181 Archer III · Lydd · shares, equity not stated | £8,9501 of 10 shares | £165 | £70dry, plus fuel | not stated |
| North Weald Flying GroupCessna 152 (fleet also C172, PA-28, AA-5B and others) · North Weald · non-equity | none£300 refundable deposit | £65 | £115not stated£115 to £125 for its three C152sairborne + 7 minutes per flight | airborne + 7 minutes per flight |
| Lydd Group 5Piper PA-28-161 Warrior · Lydd · non-equity | none£495 deposit | £165 | £117dry, plus fuel | not stated |
The more members share the fixed costs, the lower the monthly charge tends to be. With up to ten members, the Lydd groups charge £165 a month; with 20 shares in a Cessna 152, The 152 Group charges £73. The hourly rates are closer together: £85 wet for the Skyhawk Flying Group's Cessna 172N, £97 for The 152 Group's Cessna 152, £120 for its Warrior and for the Hampshire Flying Group's Robin DR400 (£90 for its DR221), and £135 for the Scottish Airways Flyers' Arrow. The two Lydd Archers charge £72 and £70 an hour plus fuel; at Archer One that is "Inclusive of engine fund, maintenance reserve and management fees".
Read what the hour counts. The 152 Group bills "Hobbs hours"; North Weald Flying Group bills "airborne time, with an additional fixed 7 minutes per flight added to cover ground operations". None of the other pages says. The difference matters: the same flight reads fewer hours on a tacho than on a Hobbs, and our Tach to Hobbs converter shows by how much.
What a year in a group costs
Add twelve monthly charges to the hours you fly. A member who flies 25 hours a year pays £3,205 to £4,125 for the five certified wet aircraft we can compare (at four groups), or £128 to £165 an hour all in; at 50 hours the year costs £5,330 to £7,500, or £107 to £150 an hour. Renting a comparable aircraft at the two UK flight schools in our rental rates table costs £185 to £225 an hour for a Cessna 152 and £215 to £260 for a Cessna 172 — though Fenland's £225 and £260 are per tacho hour, by its own count about £180 and £208 per hour of flying.
A member's year: 25 or 50 hours
| Group | Per year (per hour, all in) |
|---|---|
| Robin DR400 (the share also covers a WA52 and a DR221)Hampshire Flying Group | £4,080 (£163)£7,080 (£142) |
| Cessna 172NSkyhawk Flying Group | £3,205 (£128)£5,330 (£107) |
| Cessna 152The 152 Group | £3,301 (£132)£5,726 (£115) |
| Piper PA-28 Warrior IIThe 152 Group | £3,984 (£159)£6,984 (£140) |
| Piper PA-28R ArrowScottish Airways Flyers | £4,125 (£165)£7,500 (£150) |
| Ikarus C42 (microlight)GS Aviation C42 share (run by the flying school) | £2,052 (£82)£3,552 (£71) |
The share is left out of those sums because you recover it, at whatever price it sells for, when you leave, but it is money you cannot use while you are a member, and its price is not fixed — The 152 Group's guide price "can be negotiated". Whether sharing beats renting or owning on your own hours is worked out for a Cessna 172 in rent, share or own a plane, and the full cost of owning one in how much it costs to own a plane.
What to check before you buy a share
- What the hourly rate counts: Hobbs, tacho, airborne time or brakes off to brakes on, and whether it is wet (fuel included) or dry.
- What the monthly charge covers: Lydd Group 5 lists "Hangarage, Insurance, Annual Inspection, Radio Annual and ARC"; GS Aviation's charge "covers club membership, insurance, hangarage, permit and maintenance".
- What else you pay: a joining fee (£250 at the Hampshire Flying Group, whose members "must also join the Spitfire Flying Club" that manages Popham) or, in a non-equity group, a deposit (£300 refundable at North Weald, £495 at Lydd Group 5).
- How you leave: who may buy your share, at what price, and how much notice you give.
- Who the trustee is, or which company owns the aircraft, and whether G-INFO shows "Trustee of" after the owner's name.
The rules that settle the last two points belong in the group's written agreement. What such an agreement should cover is in aircraft partnership agreement: what to put in it, and how co-owners split costs and bookings on our aircraft partnership software page.
Running the group's money
A group's treasurer does the same sum every month: the monthly charge for each member, plus each member's hours at the rate. In Pilot-Next an administrator sets the monthly charge as a membership fee, billed each period by hand or automatically, and the hourly rate per Hobbs or Tacho hour; every settled flight and every billed month lands on the member's account balance. Pilot-Next bills on Hobbs or Tacho, not on airborne time.