How much does a PPL cost in the UK and Europe? Published prices at 24 schools and clubs
October 30, 2026 · Chris van Eijk
How much does a private pilot licence cost in Europe? Twenty-four flight schools and flying clubs in the United Kingdom, the Netherlands, Germany and Belgium publish a price for the licence training. We read their pages on 29 October 2026, with two more that give an hourly rate only, and the minimum hours and licence fees the authorities set. Every amount below is the operator's own, in its own currency, with what it covers; we converted nothing.
Short answer: a PPL(A) costs £9,800 to £16,502 at the five UK schools that publish a price for the licence training, €12,340 to €27,000 at six Dutch schools and a Dutch club, €9,978 to €15,000 at three German clubs and €14,500 up to a "from" price of €18,250 at four German schools, and €12,000 to €16,000 at four Belgian clubs. The totals are not like for like: some cover the flying only, others are the operator's own all-in budget. The licence itself costs £263 from the UK CAA, €673 in the Netherlands and €50 to €70 in Germany. The EU minimum is 45 hours of flight instruction; the UK asks for 40, or 35 at an approved school.
What a PPL(A) costs at 24 flight schools and clubs in four countries
| School or club | Basis | Price |
|---|---|---|
| United Kingdom | ||
| Clacton Aero ClubSchool · Clacton · package | package | £9,800 |
| North Weald Flight TrainingSchool · North Weald · package | package | £10,089 to £16,502 |
| The Pilot CentreSchool · Denham · flying only | flying only | £10,200 to £12,000 |
| Fenland Flying SchoolSchool · Fenland · own estimate | own estimate | £10,277 |
| Academy AviationSchool · North Weald · own estimate | own estimate | £10,800 |
| Netherlands | ||
| Wings over HollandSchool · Lelystad · flying only | flying only | €12,340 |
| Avanti AviationSchool · Lelystad · own estimate | own estimate | €15,000 |
| KLM AeroclubClub · Lelystad · own estimate | own estimate | €15,200 |
| Executive FlightSchool · the Netherlands · package | package | €15,444 |
| Zelf VliegenSchool · Lelystad · flying only | flying only | €16,425 |
| Special Air AcademySchool · Teuge · flying only | flying only | €17,479 to €19,449 |
| E-Flight AcademySchool · Teuge · package | package | €22,650 to €27,000 |
| Germany | ||
| Aero Club LichtenfelsClub · Lichtenfels · own estimate | own estimate | €5,500 to €10,000 |
| Aero-Club HodenhagenClub · Hodenhagen · own estimate | own estimate | €9,978 |
| Motorfluggruppe Wilhelmshaven-FrieslandClub · Wilhelmshaven · own estimate | own estimate | €12,000 to €15,000 |
| Fliegerclub NürnbergClub · Nuremberg · own estimate | own estimate | €13,270 |
| AerotoursSchool · Strausberg · package | package | €14,500 to €14,939.80 |
| FlycademySchool · Germany · own estimate | own estimate | €14,500 to €16,000 |
| Panorama AirSchool · Egelsbach · own estimate | own estimate | €15,835 |
| Motorflugschule KasselSchool · Kassel · from | from | €18,250 |
| Belgium | ||
| Aeroclub KeiheuvelClub · Balen · own estimate | own estimate | €12,000 |
| Aero-KiewitClub · Kiewit, Hasselt · own estimate | own estimate | €12,500 |
| Noordzee VliegclubClub · Ostend · flying only | flying only | €14,850 |
| Motorvliegclub BrasschaatClub · Brasschaat · own estimate | own estimate | €16,000 |
What a PPL costs in the UK
The five UK schools that publish a price for the licence training put it between £9,800 and £16,502:
- Clacton Aero Club, a school despite its name ("We operate from Clacton airfield and are the only school there"): a three-week course in a Cessna 172 for £9,800, with "40 hours flying", all ground exams, temporary membership, fuel and Clacton landing fees; the medical, the radio test, the examiner and the CAA fees are extra. (The page prints the price as "9800 00", without a currency sign.)
- Fenland Flying School: £10,277, its own total if you finish in the minimum hours — flying in a Cessna 152 at £201 an hour, theory exams, the radio exam, about £140 for the medical, the test, the licence fee, membership of Fenland Aero Club with its landing fees, and six months of school membership. Its licence fee line still says £251; the CAA has charged £263 since April 2026.
- North Weald Flight Training: three packages, "wet and fully inclusive of VAT where applicable". Bronze costs £10,089 in a two-seater and £11,165 in a four-seater. Silver, at £12,945 and £14,077, has 40 hours, theory seminars, all theory exams, the landing fees at North Weald, the radio test, a headset and the study materials. Gold costs £15,370 and £16,502.
- The Pilot Centre (Denham): 40 hours cost £10,200 in a C152 and £12,000 in a C172 or PA28, with VAT, the £70 instructor fee, Denham landing fees and insurance in the hourly rate. Membership (£175), exams (£40 each), the radio test (£150) and the examiner (£275) come on top. "Prices are valid from March 2026".
- Academy Aviation (North Weald): "Total FROM ~£10,800" for a four-week course, with 40 hours from £9,200 in a Tecnam P2002 to £11,000 in a Cessna 172 or PA28, ground exams, the skill test, about £180 for the medical, the radio licence and equipment.
Two clubs publish an hourly rate but no total. Sherburn Aero Club charges £224 an hour for its PA-28 Warrior plus £46 for the instructor; West London Aero Club's 2025 price list gives £258 an hour for dual in a PA28 Warrior.
On top of the school's price comes the CAA. Under its scheme of charges in force from 1 April 2026, the initial grant of a Private Pilot's Licence costs £263, and so does the NPPL (aeroplane). For a Class 2 medical the CAA charges an application fee of £11.67; the aeromedical examiner's own fee is separate and not on the CAA's list.
What a PPL costs in the Netherlands
Dutch schools publish detailed prices, from €12,340 to €27,000. Much of the spread is what the price covers.
- Wings over Holland (Lelystad): €12,340 for the training — 35 hours with an instructor and 10 solo, the minimum. "De theorieopleiding is een verplicht onderdeel, maar moet je zelf regelen bij een externe aanbieder." (the theory course is compulsory, but you arrange it yourself with an outside provider), and the exams and licence are not included either.
- Avanti Aviation (Lelystad): "Gemiddeld kost de hele opleiding zo'n €15.000." — about €15,000 on average for the whole course.
- KLM Aeroclub (Lelystad), the one club among them: about €15,200 for the PPL, its own all-in estimate on the legal minimum hours — "Alles bij elkaar opgeteld kom je uit op een totaalbedrag van zo'n €12.750,- voor het LAPL traject en zo'n €15.200,- voor het PPL traject." The flying comes to about €12,350, and the theory, exams, charts and medical to about €2,400. The club adds: "Let op! Dit is dus gebaseerd op het wettelijke minimum vereiste uren." — based on the minimum, so keep a margin for extra lessons. The club's instructors charge €50 an hour, VAT included.
- Executive Flight: a package of €15,444 for 45 hours (25 with an instructor, 20 solo), online theory and a radio course, without books, government costs (language test, medical, licence), landings and exams.
- Zelf Vliegen (Lelystad): 45 block hours at €335 and 120 landings at €11.25 — "Totaal = € 16.425,00" — without theory, exams, equipment or medical.
- Special Air Academy (Teuge): the practical training costs €17,479 in a Cessna 150 and €19,449 in a Cessna 172, VAT included, for 45 block hours, about 100 hours of instruction and about 125 landings. Theory, radio, the language test, the medical (€300), the skill test (€575) and the licence (€673) come on top.
- E-Flight Academy (Teuge): €22,650 for theory and practical together — "Het complete pakket (theorie + praktijk) kost € 22.650." Its own all-in figure, with medical, exams and licence, is €24,500 to €27,000.
The licence itself is issued by CAA NL (part of the ILT): "The first issue of an RPL(A), an LAPL(A) or a PPL(A) costs €673." No VAT is charged on it. Two of the pages above still point elsewhere: KLM Aeroclub budgets €700 to €800 for the licence, and Wings over Holland names Kiwa Register, which no longer handles it.
What a PPL costs in Germany: clubs against schools
Germany is the one country where both clubs and schools publish several prices. The three clubs that price the PPL put it at €9,978 to €15,000; the four schools at €14,500 up to Kassel's "from" price of €18,250. The clubs are mostly cheaper, but the ranges meet between €14,500 and €15,000.
- Aero Club Lichtenfels: "Die Ausbildungskosten belaufen sich zur Zeit auf 5500,- bis 10.000,- Euro" — €5,500 to €10,000 for an LAPL or a PPL, depending on the aircraft and the licence, with its aircraft at about €170 an hour, fuel included, and membership at €300 a year.
- Aero-Club Hodenhagen: "Während der Ausbildung entstehen Kosten von ca. 9978,00 € (inkl. Vereinsmitgliedschaft)." — about €9,978 including membership, with 40 of the 45 hours in an Aquila A210 at €125 and the instructor at €30 an hour. Authority fees, about €250, are not included.
- Motorfluggruppe Wilhelmshaven-Friesland: about €12,000 to €15,000, made up of a €350 joining fee, €85 a month, materials, 45 hours at an average €175 plus €50 an hour for the instructor, landing and registration fees. Exam fees are extra.
- Fliegerclub Nürnberg: about €13,270 — "Gesamt ca. 13.270 Euro" in its sample calculation — about 40 hours in a PS-28 and 5 in a Cessna 172 with instructor, a year of dues (€940), medical, theory, radio course, landing and exam fees, and materials; it charges no joining fee.
- Aerotours (Strausberg): €14,939.80 including 19% VAT for 45 hours in a Diamond DA20 with instructor, theory, materials, landing fees, the radio licence and €250 of authority fees — or €14,500 as a fixed price if paid in advance. The offer is for a student of up to about 75 kg.
- Flycademy: "ungefähr 14.500€ bis 16.000€" up to the licence. Its table — 45 hours in a Tecnam P2008 at €225, about 54 instructor hours and theory — adds up to €15,170, VAT included, with exams, medical and landing fees on top.
- Panorama Air (Egelsbach): about €15,835 including fuel, 19% VAT and about €2,180 of third-party costs (landing fees, medical, radio licence, exams), for 37 hours of flight time in a Cessna 152, which it says equals the 45-hour minimum in block time.
- Motorflugschule Kassel: from €18,250 for 45 hours in a Piper PA-28 Warrior with instructor, distance-learning theory and admin, without landings, approach fees and the authority's exam fees.
Aero-Club Hodenhagen gives one reason for the gap: "Der Verein bildet seine Schüler zum Selbstkostenpreis aus." — the club trains its students at cost. The aircraft costs €125 to €175 an hour at Hodenhagen, Lichtenfels and Wilhelmshaven, against €215 to €269 at Panorama Air, Flycademy and Motorflugschule Kassel (on its block charter), and the instructor €30 to €50 an hour at Hodenhagen and Wilhelmshaven, against €80 at Panorama Air. The authority charges €50 to €70 to issue the licence and €130 for the theory exam and €100 for the practical exam of a PPL(A), under the Luftfahrt-Kostenverordnung.
What a PPL costs in Belgium
Only clubs publish a price in Belgium; we found no commercial school that does. The four put it at €12,000 to €16,000:
- Aeroclub Keiheuvel (Balen): "Een opleiding Privaat Piloot (PPL) kost voor iemand die de normale opleiding volgt gemiddeld € 12.000." — about €12,000 on average, in a PS-28 Cruiser.
- Aero-Kiewit (Hasselt): about €12,500 — "Globaal mag je uitgaan van een totaalbudget van €12.500 voordat je je PPL-vergunning behaalt." The theory course costs €450 and the manuals €230.
- Noordzee Vliegclub (Ostend): the practical training costs at least €14,850 plus €780 of landing fees, at €330 an hour for aircraft and instructor together; theory costs €1,450 and membership €520 a year.
- Motorvliegclub Brasschaat: about €16,000 for the whole course and the side costs, budgeted on 65 flight hours over about two years.
The Belgian licence fee is not stated here: the authority's page asked for a human check we did not get past.
Minimum hours and what the authority charges
| Rule | EU (EASA) | United Kingdom |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum flight instruction, PPL(A) | 45 hours (25 dual, 10 solo) | 40 hours, or 35 at an approved school (ATO) |
| Minimum flight instruction, LAPL(A) | 30 hours (15 dual, 6 solo) | No longer issued; the NPPL instead |
| Country | Authority fee | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| United Kingdom | Licence grant, PPL or NPPL (aeroplane) | £263 |
| United Kingdom | Class 2 medical, CAA application fee (the examiner charges separately) | £11.67 |
| Netherlands | First issue of a PPL(A) or LAPL(A), no VAT | €673 |
| Germany | Issue of the licence | €50 to €70 |
| Germany | PPL(A) theory exam / practical exam | €130 / €100 |
| Germany | LAPL(A) theory exam / practical exam | €130 / €75 |
| Belgium | Issue of the licence | not stated |
The minimum hours, and what the prices assume
Most schools and clubs above also sell a trial lesson first; what one costs, per 20, 30, 45 or 60 minutes, is in how much a trial flying lesson costs. After the licence, what a night rating and an IR(R) cost in the UK lists the course prices for the next two ratings. Two years after the skill test the SEP rating needs revalidating: SEP revalidation by experience sets out the UK and EASA rules and what the refresher hour costs.
EASA sets the minimum for a PPL(A) at 45 hours of flight instruction, at least 25 of them dual and 10 supervised solo, and for the lighter LAPL(A) at 30 hours, 15 dual and 6 solo. EASA's licensing page sums it up: "to get the PPL(A) you will need around 100 hours of theory and 45 hours of flight instruction"; the split into dual and solo hours is in the Easy Access Rules for Aircrew (FCL.210.A and FCL.110.A). The UK left EASA and asks for 40 hours, which "may be reduced to 35 hours, if completed whilst undertaking a course at an ATO approved for that purpose".
Most prices above are built on that minimum. Some say so outright: KLM Aeroclub's estimate is on the legal minimum and it advises a margin, Motorvliegclub Brasschaat budgets 65 hours, and E-Flight Academy's all-in range runs €1,850 to €4,350 above its package, for the medical, exams, licence and extra lessons. Check also which clock the hours run on. Panorama Air counts 37 hours of flight time as the 45-hour minimum in block time, and Zelf Vliegen and Special Air Academy price block hours.
How long a PPL takes
The same pages say how long the training runs. Schools that sell an intensive course finish in weeks: Clacton Aero Club runs a "3 week Intensive JJA, PPL (A) Course" and Academy Aviation says "Learn to Fly in just 4 Weeks". Other schools put it at months to a year and a half. Fenland Flying School: "The training time is usually around 12-18 months." Flycademy says four months is possible with regular theory classes and one or two flights a week, but that weather, your time and waiting for exam dates usually make it "ca. 6-12 Monate"; Panorama Air says "typischerweise 6 bis 12 Monaten". Dutch schools say about a year to a year and a half — Zelf Vliegen "ongeveer 1 jaar tot 1,5 jaar", E-Flight Academy "gemiddeld 1 à 1,5 jaar".
Clubs take longer. KLM Aeroclub: "Normaliter bestrijkt het traject tussen de één à twee jaar" — normally one to two years. Motorvliegclub Brasschaat says the practical part takes two years on average, partly because of the Belgian weather. There is a limit to stretching it: Avanti Aviation notes that the practical training has to be finished within 24 months of the last theory exam.
The cheaper licence: LAPL(A), or the NPPL in the UK
The LAPL(A) is the lighter EASA licence: 30 hours of flight instruction instead of 45. Where the same operator gives one figure for each, the LAPL(A) costs 16% to 27% less than the PPL(A), from KLM Aeroclub's 16% to Panorama Air's 27%; Motorfluggruppe Wilhelmshaven-Friesland gives ranges:
- Motorfluggruppe Wilhelmshaven-Friesland: €9,000 to €10,000, against €12,000 to €15,000 for the PPL.
- Panorama Air: about €11,515, against about €15,835.
- Zelf Vliegen: €12,737.50, against €16,425.
- KLM Aeroclub: about €12,750, against about €15,200.
- Motorflugschule Kassel: from €13,530, against from €18,250.
In the UK there is no LAPL(A) any more: "The UK CAA are no longer issuing LAPL(A) licences." Students who had trained for it but were not issued one before 1 October 2025 get a National Private Pilot Licence (NPPL) instead. The Pilot Centre prices 32 hours for the NPPL at £8,160 to £9,600, Fenland Flying School's own total is £8,623, and Clacton Aero Club runs a two-week NPPL course for £7,840, VAT included.
And in the United States
In the United States the FAA minimum is 40 hours under Part 61, 20 of them with an instructor. Priced at the published rates in our comparison of flying club vs flight school, those 40 hours cost $6,860 to $11,900 at ten US flight schools and $5,176 to $9,250 at six US member clubs, dues and the cost of joining included. What schools themselves budget for the whole licence is higher — four US schools put it at $12,000 to $30,000; Aces High Aviation bases its figure on "national-average hours rather than FAA minimums".
Club or school
Only Germany has several of both: there the three clubs that price the PPL come in below most schools, with the ranges meeting between €14,500 and €15,000. In the Netherlands the one club's estimate (KLM Aeroclub, about €15,200 on the minimum hours) sits among the schools; in Belgium only clubs publish a price, and in the UK only schools do. A club adds its own costs — often a joining fee, and monthly or yearly dues — and an intensive course sells a schedule: three weeks at Clacton Aero Club, four at Academy Aviation. Our comparison of flying club vs flight school prices both in the United States and reads the rules that decide where you may train; what a flight instructor costs per hour lists the instructor's share at European clubs; and how to join a flying club covers the membership side.
Before you sign, ask each school or club the same five things: how many hours its students actually need, whether the price is block time or flight time, whether landing fees and fuel are in it, which exams, examiner and licence fees are extra, and what you pay to join and per month as a member.
If your club trains its members
A club that trains has more to keep track of than one that only rents its aircraft: a student's account against the lessons flown, the dues, and which meter each lesson is billed on. Pilot-Next keeps the bookings, the hours and the accounts of a flying club in one place, and sends each member the invoice for what they flew.
Sources
Every price was read on the operator's own website on 29 October 2026: The Pilot Centre, Academy Aviation, North Weald Flight Training, Clacton Aero Club, Fenland Flying School, Sherburn Aero Club and West London Aero Club (UK); KLM Aeroclub, Wings over Holland, Executive Flight, Avanti Aviation, Zelf Vliegen, Special Air Academy and E-Flight Academy (Netherlands); Aero Club Lichtenfels, Aero-Club Hodenhagen, Motorfluggruppe Wilhelmshaven-Friesland, Fliegerclub Nürnberg, Aerotours, Flycademy, Panorama Air and Motorflugschule Kassel (Germany); Aeroclub Keiheuvel, Aero-Kiewit, Noordzee Vliegclub and Motorvliegclub Brasschaat (Belgium). Rules and fees: EASA, Licensing for General Aviation and Easy Access Rules for Aircrew (FCL.110.A, FCL.210.A); UK CAA, Private pilot licence for aeroplanes, LAPL page and Scheme of Charges ORS5 No. 446 (from 1 April 2026); ILT/CAA NL, applying for an aeroplane pilot licence; Luftfahrt-Kostenverordnung (LuftKostV), Anlage. Prices change; check the operator's page before you budget.